England

Cheers from London

I am back in the United States of America, and all I can say is that my time in London, England was PRICELESS! I experienced a lot, saw a lot, and also did a lot. While there, I got to spend some time with the Queen of England as she celebrated her 60th Diamond Jubilee. I also got to travel to Italy and Paris, participate in free activities during the summer Olympic Games, and go to hearings at court every day. I interned at Criminal Defense Solicitors, a privately owned law firm that gives intern opportunities to practice and study the English law.

Before going abroad, I was nervous and afraid to leave my friends and family. I have never traveled without my family, so it was a great challenge as they stood behind the gate and watched me walk through security. From the time I jumped off of the plane in England, I knew it was the opportunity of a life time! I could neither change nor ask for a better summer of 2012. I got to not only meet new people, but also adapt to new cultures, experience new things, and live life in the shoes of the British.

Yes it may sound a bit stunning, but if I did it, than I know you can too. Here are the steps to having an experience like I have had: Apply for Scholarships, ask for donations, and prepare for a life changing opportunity. With that being said, YES, if I could do it all over again I would. My experience in London was amazing and until I take my next journey I would like to end this blog by saying thanks for reading and I cannot wait to hear about your life’s journey abroad. As the British say, “Until next time. CHEERS MATE!”

Rashai Lee – Interdisciplinary Studies Major ‘13

Leave a comment